Tradition of Excellence

161 NWAC Championships
150 NWAC Regional Championships
12 NCWSA Championships
3 NJCAA National Championships
326 Total Team Championships
as of 2-8-2018
Spokane Community College Square Spokane Falls Community College

Men's Cross Country Wing

1967-68 Men's Cross Country Team

Cross Country

The 1967-68 Spokane Men’s Cross Country team was selected because they won the first WAACC Men’s Cross Country title in Spokane Community College history. The 1967-68 WACC Champions were coached by the legendary Hank Coplen of Basketball coaching fame.  The Washington Athletic Community College (WAACC) started Men’s Cross Country Championships in 1965. Spokane entered their first team in the fall of 1966 and Coach Hank Coplen led them to a 3rd place finish in their first year. In 1967, their second year, they won the WAACC Team Championship against 11 other teams. The team was led by Tom Burkwist who finished third for the Spartans and was closely followed by Jack Isner (4th place) and Wayne Ristau (5th place) to help Spokane finish with 48 points to win the Team Championship. Ristau came back as a sophomore to finish fourth and help Spokane finish in 3rd place in 1968. Other top runners for the 1967 Spokane CC Championship team were Bill Langford in 17th place and Pat Moses in 19th.

1969-70 SFCC Men's Cross Country

1969-70 Cross Country
The 1969-70 SFCC Men’s Cross Country team was selected for their exceptional year in winning the WAACC Team Championship with a low score of 20 points. This Spokane team was coached by Mike Keller who has been selected to the NWAACC Hall of Fame for his coaching success at Spokane Falls. The State Championship was won by having all 5 top Spokane runners finish in a tightly bunched group at the front of the pack of 96 runners and behind only Seattle’s Riley Shirley in first place. The team was led by John Lopez (2nd), Phil Burkwist (3rd), Willie Hernandez (4th), Mark Nast (5th), and Bill Bloom (6th) to finish with 20 points and the Championship.  Seattle had 53 in second and Highline got the 3rd place trophy with 96 points. The other top runners for Spokane were John Blaylock (11th) and Ed Roff (16th). Other members of the 1969 team were Dave Cruickshank, Walt Kostecka, Scott Lloyd, Dick Moody, Ralph O’Meara, Dave Probst, Dan Rowland and Dan Young.


1970-71 SFCC Men's Cross Country Team

Cross Country 1970-71

The 1970-71 SFCC Men’s Cross Country team was selected for their efforts in winning the WAACC Team Championship for the second straight year. The team was again coached by Mike Keller who was selected as the WAACC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year for the second time in a row. SFCC won easily with 20 points, Highline CC finished second with 74 points and Everett got the 3rd place trophy with 99 points. This outstanding Spokane team had the first four finishers in the race against a strong field of 14 community colleges. The Championships were held at Skagit Valley College in Mount Vernon, WA. Phil Burkwist of SFCC won the WAACC Individual Championship in a time of 17:52.0 on a muddy 3.5 mile course.  He was followed by SFCC’s John Lopez in 2nd, Dan Conley in 3rd, Willie Hernandez in 4th and Kelly Bonney in 10th. SFCC had all 5 counters in the top ten of the race. The other two athletes scoring for Spokane were Chris White in 16th and Ed Roff in 23rd. Other members of the 1970 team were Bob Barbero, Tony Maucione, Ralpf O’Meara, Bob O’Neil, Mike Reed, Dan Rowland, Jim Scorgie and Tom Sipp.


1974-75 SCC Men's Cross Country Team
Head Coach John Buck

XC 74-75

One of the best cross country teams in NWAACC history, this great Spokane Community College men’s cross country team won the 1974 NWAACC Cross Country Championship for the 3rd straight year under Coach John Buck. The team set the NWAACC record for lowest score ever with 16 points (15 is perfect) in the Championship Meet and had seven of the top eight runners in the meet. The team was led by Rick Whitaker who won the individual championship and he was followed by Greg Gustafson (2), Jim Hennessey (3), Bill Morgan (4), Tom Larson (6), Bryan Geissler (7), and Paul Keiper (8).  Mike Hadway, Randy Henry, Paul Keiper, Steve Kiesel, James Moravec and Scott Olander also competed on this team and were outstanding cross country runners in their own right. Five athletes were awarded Division I scholarships from this team and these long distance runners helped the SCC track team win the NWAACC title that spring as well.


1975-76 SCC Men's Cross Country
Head Coach Max Jensen

Cross Country 75-76

Max Jensen took over as Head Coach of Men’s Cross Country in 1975 and SCC never missed a beat as the team won the NWAACC Championship for the 4th year in a row. This outstanding team scored 19 points in winning their championship by placing 5 runners in the top seven at the NWAACC Championship meet. They were led by the individual champion Tom Larson (1), Tim Riley (3), Mike Hadway (4), John Boulton (5), Tom Rogers (6), and Russ Smith (7).  All five top Spokane finishers went on to four year colleges after leaving SCC. John Boulton, Randy Henry, Steve Kiesel, James Moravec, Bill Morgan, Mark Rednour and Guy Tunnell were outstanding cross country runners who were also on this team. All these runners also came back in the spring on the track and helped lead Spokane to a 4th consecutive NWAACC Track and Field title.1975-76 SCC Men's Track and Field Team.

1978-79 Men’s Cross Country Team
Head Coach Duane Hartman

The 1978-79 men’s cross country team was elected to the CCS Hall of Fame as they were honored for winning the 1978 NWAACC championship. Coach Duane Hartman led them to victory for his first men’s cross country team title. CCS was led by Craig Olinger in second place followed closely by Mike Brady (4th), Howard Conley (6th) and Keith Packard in (7th) place. This outstanding group of Sasquatch runners scored 31 points to beat a strong Highline contingent for the title. Other team members were Tim Moran, Keith Cronrath, Dick Lalonde, Brock Ricci and Monte Wright.  1978 Captain was Craig Olinger, MVP Mike Brady, and Howard Conley was voted Most Inspirational. The 1982-83 women’s cross country championship team was coached by Duane Hartman.  CCS won its third NWAACC title with 26 points to edge out Bellevue (29) in a tight team race. Trish Henderson (CCS) won the individual NWAACC title and was followed closely by teammates Julie Engstrom (3rd), Gail Comer (6th), Christine Oeser (7th), and Julie Robbins (9th).  Other CCS team members were Cathy Carpenter (12th), Lisa Tylor (18th), and Eva Silver.  All five Spokane scorers finished in the top ten at conference to take CCS to the title at Wandermere Golf Course in Spokane.  Team awards were Captain-Christine Oeser, MVP-Trish Henderson, and Most Inspirational-Julie Robbins.  Earle Carroll served as assistant under Coach Hartman.