Tradition of Excellence

161 NWAC Championships
150 NWAC Regional Championships
12 NCWSA Championships
3 NJCAA National Championships
326 Total Team Championships
as of 2-8-2018
Spokane Community College Square Spokane Falls Community College

NWAACC Athletic Achievement Award

The Art Feiro award is given yearly to the top male and female scholar athletes in the NWAACC. The award is named after the former athletic director at Peninsula Community College who was the Executive Secretary of the NWAACC between 1967 and 1975. He served on the Executive Board for 16 years, ending in 1981 when the Port Angeles school dropped intercollegiate athletics. Art passed away a year later and this award was named in his honor.

The NWAACC annually selects the athletes of the year from the 34 community colleges it represents in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and British Columbia. The award is based on the following criteria:

  1. A second-year athletic participant at a NWAACC member college.
  2. Has earned 40+ credits with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or better.
  3. Is involved in campus or community activities.
  4. Recommendation from coach or athletic director.

CCS student have received this award six times:

2003-04   Josh Parker, Men's Basketball.  Currently attending Whitworth College where he is playing basketball.  Major--Business.

1995-96   Charlie Zimmerman, Men’s Baseball. Graduate of Oak Grove High School in San Jose, California, with a 3.78 GPA in Biology. He was a two-year letter winner for the Sasquatch baseball team. Charlie was All-Eastern Division First-Team in 1995. He was on the Honor Roll during every quarter at Spokane Falls Community College.

1986-87   Susan Volke, Women's Track and Cross Country. Outstanding distance runner at CCS.  Won invidual Cross Country Title and NWAACC 10,000 meters race in track.  Graduate of WSU. Major--English, Minor--Math.

1985-86   Jan Aubrey, Women's Track and Cross Country. Graduate of Whitworth. Major--Physical Education, Minor--Psychology. Teaching at Farwell Elementary, Mead School District.

1984-85   Kaylene (Krug) Hanson, Women's Basketball. Graduate of Whitworth. Major--Physical Education.  Master’s Degree in Athletic Administration; married with two children.

1983-84   Dan Shannon, Men's Track. Graduate of Notre Dame. Major--Business Administration. Working for SeaLand Corporation in Seattle.

Dutch Triebwasser Award

In 1990, the NWAACC presented the initial Dutch Triebwasser Award recognizing the conference's outstanding athletic administrator. The award is named in honor of the former Mt. Hood Athletic Director who passed away in 1989.  Dr. Maury Ray won this award in 1994.